a look around...
the Jewellers was founded in 1946, at 77 South Road, Waterloo.
Named after the butler in P.G.Wodehouse's stories, whose name
was synonymous with efficient service, the shop was born in
a period of post-War austerity. It is said that the original
owner even brought a clock in from his home to sell, as stock
was so hard to come by.
By 1967, Jeeves the Jewellers had grown to such an extent that
bigger premises were required, and the shop moved into its new
home at 131/133 South Road. The new shop stocked a range of
products which is inconceivable by modern standards, including
Rolex and Omega watches, Hummel, Beswick and Cappo Di Monte
figurines, and Viners and Oneida cutlery. One advert from the
1970s boasts of the shop's range of table-warmers, fondue sets
and Pyrex tableware.
Nowadays, we stock a more streamlined range of products, much
more in keeping with twenty-first century requirements and tastes.
The modern, spacious showroom concentrates on selling a superb
range of diamond jewellery at unbeatable prices. The gift department
constantly endeavours to refresh the stock, sourcing new and
exciting lines to sit alongside the ever popular Dalvey, Royal
Scot Crystal and Royal Selangor ranges.
We also have two on-site full-time engravers, so many gifts
and presentation items can be personalised at short notice.
A jewellery and watch repair service is also available as well
as a valuation service by a highly qualified evaluator.
From small beginnings, Jeeves the Jewellers has now grown into
the complete package; everything an independent retail jeweller
should be for the twenty-first century.